Presidential Debate After-Thoughts; Did That Really Happen?

I hesitate to write a blog about politics because it is easy for people to get worked up and get personal. Don’t do it. OK? This isn’t an endorsement, it’s simply my debate after-thoughts. I have a love-dislike relationship with politics, and I mostly dislike it because people just get crazy about it. One of things that people dislike most about politics is the divisiveness that leads to impasse. So don’t add to it.

Now, on to my post-debate reflections.

Most people seem to think that Governor Romney won the debate last night (67% in a CNN poll) and many people were struck by how unprepared President Obama was. Even former Vice-President Al Gore, inventor of the Internet, must have thought Romney won because he blamed the high altitude for President Obama’s lackluster performance. Another example of the outcome is this article from Yahoo.com/news expresses the bewilderment as to why President Obama didn’t say some of the things that would have helped him. Words Obama Did not Say.

Here are possibilities I’ve thought:

  1. President Obama let his confidence get the best of him and so he didn’t prepare well and wasn’t ready. After all, many have already assumed his imminent victory based on polling and recent Romney blunders. When you are supposed to win, it is hard to get ready to win. I had even read that Mr. Obama said debate prep was a drag, so maybe he didn’t fully give himself to it. If this is what happened, I can assure you that it won’t happen next time.
  2. President Obama did it on purpose for “strategery”. (In case you forgot, strategery is a President Bush word.) Let’s face it, based on the feedback by cable news channels, including the left-leaning MSNBC, Mr. Obama was out-debated. And based on that analysis, there’s only one way to go as far as debate performance – UP! It can only get better for President Obama. This seems plausible to me since he knew this debate was going to be tough because of the facts on the ground concerning the economy; Unemployment at over 8% (at the time of debate), the deficit not cut in half as he had promised, wanting to raise taxes in a weak economy despite saying 2 years ago in a week economy that taxes shouldn’t be raised because the economy is week. Additionally, I can’t figure out why he didn’t hammer Romney on the “47 percent” blunder or Bain Capital. If this is the case, I expect President Obama to release an all-out salvo in the next couple of debates.

I just can’t believe that Obama tanked the debate like it looked. He is smarter and better than that – or maybe he just got caught flat-footed. Maybe Gore’s right; he couldn’t breathe. What I do know is that there are two more debates and Romney still has a lot of work to do, and I certainly can’t see Obama doing any worse than he did last night. The question in my mind is: “Why did he get beat by a man who’s strongest and most popular line was about Big Bird?”

My final thought is this and I think it is one we can all agree on – I’ll just be glad when the whole thing is over. And then we can have a two year break before campaigning starts up again. You realize don’t you, this will never end until Jesus comes back. So pray with the Apostle John: “Come, Lord Jesus.” (Rev. 22:20)

I’m Brent Prentice, and I approve this message.

About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on October 5, 2012, in Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment