I Enjoy Dryers, But I Want To Enjoy Jesus

I really like a good deal. Feel proud of myself when I get one. On big ticket items I will shop and research and wait patiently until I think I can get something at the lowest amount possible. As a matter of fact, just bought a Bosch Dryer from Lowe’s on Saturday. It would delight me to tell you the story because it is a good one.

The dryer that we did own, which is the dryer my mom and dad gave us, just wasn’t gettin er done. It took twice as long to dry laundry as it should have. Lacey and I have been saving money for months now to furnish our new house, but a dryer wasn’t really what I was thinking about when I was disciplining our family to save, save and then save. So, we started shopping here and there, which means we went to Lowe’s, and we came across a Bosch that was about 15% off. Some guy tried to sell it to me and get me to put it on my Lowe’s consumer credit card for six months with no interest, but I was disciplined and looked him in the eye and said, “We might be back.” I was hoping he would say, “Let me see what I can do.” He didn’t so we walked. All of this happened on Friday.

Saturday rolled around and we still had no dryer and we might as well had been hanging our clothes to dry out in the wind that is never still in Stillwater. I decided I should go to Lowe’s and see what I could see, cause that is what men, and sometimes women, do on Saturday in Stillwater. I pulled up and I see a sign at the entrance saying Lowe’s was having a “clearance sale event.” I thought to myself, “Maybe there is a dryer to be had at a remarkable reduced rate.” I walk up and lo and behold, there is the Bosch Dryer with the same sticker on it advertising it at 15 percent off. So I walk over and asked the kind lady who is working the clearance event, “On the Bosch Dryer, is that the lowest price?” She walks over and looks at it, contemplates for about 30 seconds and says, “How about ………… dollars?” I couldn’t believe it, she had marked it down 65 percent. Without hesitation I said, “I’ll take it.”

I couldn’t wait to get home and tell Lacey about the deal I had secured for our family. I didn’t make it home, I called her. It was like Christmas for a little boy. That night I went to Tulsa for my mother’s birthday and proclaimed to all my family what a deal I had secured. To quote Lewis, “I was delighting to praise that which I enjoyed.” I was enjoying our good deal. I enjoy paying a lot less for something that cost a lot of other people a lot more, and because I enjoy paying less, I have no problem telling others and praising my accomplishment.

Why is it so hard for myself and so many of us to praise Jesus, to proclaim that He has found us and offered us a deal that is absolutely free at the cost of His life on a criminal’s tree? Why don’t I delight to say, “Jesus has bought for me eternal life and there is nothing I can do but trust in what He has accomplished for the forgiveness of my sins.” Why is it that I can’t wait to praise Jesus to others?

Maybe Lewis gives us the answer and it maybe an answer we don’t want to hear but need to nonetheless. Here it is: We don’t enjoy God through Jesus. Could it be that despite all our singing and talking that we really don’t love God the way we say we do? We don’t gladly praise Him to others because we really don’t enjoy all that He has done for us and all that He is for us.

For those who might read this, I challenge you to read Psalms 111 to 118 (chapters) and notice how many times the Psalmist exhorts us to, “Praise the Lord.” But not only that, notice how many times the Psalmist almost begs us and the nations and every created thing to praise the Lord. Why does he do that? Because he enjoys the God who hears and saves. (Ps. 116:1-6)

Do you delight to praise the God you should enjoy? Or do you praise music, or a person, or a car, or an education, or an accomplishment or maybe even a Bosch Dryer? I hope it is God, because at the end of this life He is the only person that matters and He alone makes everything else matter.

About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on November 9, 2009, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is good stuff and an idea I toss out from time to time to our students. We read things like, “God is most glorified in me when I am most satisfied in Him.” That sounds great, and we’ll be quick to say a hearty “Amen!” to something like that, but do we actually stop and consider whether or not God is glorified in us based solely on our satisfaction in Him alone.

    I fear that we as Christians and as the church are unsatisfied by our Savior not because of His limitations but because of our own unwillingness to find and enjoy true satisfaction in Him alone. We either don’t think He is satisfying or we have filled our hearts full of everything else and figure that Jesus can serve as the icing on the cake. Trouble is, as tasty as icing may be, it certainly isn’t nutritious.

    Jesus is not the icing. He is the meal that satisfies. And it’s time the church feasted for satisfaction.

    Anyway, I enjoyed your post. I also am a fan of dryers, even if it costs $2 or more at the local laundromat for each load we want to dry. Congrats on the good deal.

  2. By the way, for those who aren’t familiar with the quote in my previous response, it’s from just about every book John Piper has written.

  3. This is some good stuff.

    Solomon would be first to tell us that it is good for a man to rejoice in the work of his hands, because that’s a gift from God. The problem is, we often rejoice in the work of our hands and forget who sustains our hands and blesses our work. Imagine how that must make God feel? God has given us such wonderful things that scream to His glory, and yet we wander off and get consumed by them so easily, forgetting where God even fits into the equation.

    How does it feel to bless your creation, only to watch them turn their backs on you because you bless them so much and they forget about you, the giver, in loo of the gift? I wouldn’t know, but I daresay I’d feel pretty miserable. God is in a terrible conundrum with man. I firmly believe that He loves to love us and bless us.. because we should glorify Him all the more for it and praise Him. But we don’t. And if He doesn’t bless us, we lose faith in Him.

    So I guess the question is, how can we keep our minds on the Giver and not the gifts? I know I struggle over this daily, and I’m not sure there’s a secret equation that helps.. It most certainly is a constant struggle.

    I really enjoyed taking in your thoughts here… it really made me think. Thanks a lot and sorry for the long comment!

  4. I appreciate the comments guys. It seems to me our inability to enjoy and infinitely enjoyable God is a rather obvious indication of our total depravity. I invoke Lewis again, “We are like children making mud pies in the slums when we could be enjoying a vacation at the beach.”

  5. Perhaps it’s more in our expectations of what experiencing God should be like, as if God is a drug that should give us the same feeling every single time we get a fix. Because there is no formula for God, because He doesn’t reveal Himself in the same manner or same fullness every time, because we are unceasingly perceptive through our environment, we don’t get the same “high” from God that we expect to get from the other things in our lives.

    My own personal study has been leading me to think about this more. Reading the last few minor prophets will do that to you, but I especially feel this as I work through Haggai’s first chapter.

Leave a Reply

