Little Things I Like About My Family

Quite often I notice something peculiar about my family that makes me think, “That is really unique to them and it endears them to me.” So I hope to keep an ongoing log, since often these things come strike me as unique but I forget about them until they happen again. Maybe I will use this strategically at some point to show that I am paying attention, and also to express why I love each of them so much. I will update this as content is revealed.

Lacey

  • (02.06.17) My wife is very good at traditions that teach us something about what really matters in life. In the run-up to Valentine’s Day she decorates little sacks with our names on them. She then encourages us to place gifts in those sacks, or to write a note that expresses the reason why we love the one for whom the note was written. She also diligently uses an advent calendar to teach Bella the story of Jesus coming to earth. She is very thoughtful and very consistent. She is a Proverbs 31 woman.
  • (04.26.17) She is gentle, merciful and tender-hearted. But she is also learning to do and say hard things that need to be done and said. She continues to grow as a woman and person.

LP

  • (08.04.16) He has a sensitive heart. When he has done something wrong, he has come clean. It hurts him to confess, but he can’t keep his failures to himself. I thank God that he has a heart that makes it hard for him to sweep his sin under the rug. This is one of the greatest assurances I have that he is truly a Christian. He also has a soft heart for people.
  • (04.25.17) L hit his first homerun yesterday. He hit it to left field and drove in two runs. There was no error on the play and he motored around to score. He was very excited and his teammates jumped up on him to congratulate him. It was the last at-bat of the game and we won by rain-out.

EP

  • (09.08.16) Elijah came in from the first day of school so determined to work hard at Mathmasters – a timed math test the students do for awards. His teacher told the class they were going to have work hard and be on top of things. Elijah came home and promptly made flash cards, working diligently to master multiplication – over a weekend no less. He really is a hard and determined worker.
  • (02.09.17) I like that E doesn’t really care what his hair looks like. If it is sticking up in the back, no biggy. If I knew my hair was sticking up like Alphalpha, I would be anxious about what others think. Not E. He also doesn’t care if his pants look like he is ready for a flood. He does care about some things, like being late, but I like that he has a degree of not being overly preoccupied with superficial things.
  • (o4.26.17) The kid really is low maintenance in many ways. Not all, but most. He does require the coolest brand of clothes. He could really care less about getting new shoes. I have to almost make him go with us to try them on to buy them.

BP

  • (08.04.16) She wakes up talking. Seriously, she immediately begins to talk the moment she is conscious, and then she talks til she goes to bed. The first part is entertaining, but the rest can get tiring. A few times on trips she has shared a bed with me and I have actually observed her open her eyes, and immediately begin to talk about the most random things.
  • (04.26.17) I like it when she crawls up on my leg and lays back and watches TV with me. It’s about the only time she stays still.
  • (04.26.17) She really likes to pick flowers and give them to her mommy. She often sees one or several from the car and wants me to stop so we can pick them.
About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on August 4, 2016, in Prentice Family. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

