Social Media – What Does It Reveal About You?

Have you ever wondered what your social media habits say about what you value and worship? What is the object of your social media song?

03-Social-Media-Management8777

 

CS Lewis rightly claimed: “We delight to praise what we enjoy.” It is an inescapable reality that we are proclaiming and praising creatures. Everyone ultimately values someone or something. We all are worshiping creatures. And what we say and defend through post and tweet is likely an accurate indicator of what we truly value and worship.

It is true that not all of us are consistent social media contributors by way of sharing. For some of us the worship indicator might be who we follow, what we click on and read, and how often we check  our wall or feed.

So let your social media trail be a spiritual litmus test. Go back and review your posts and evaluate your viewing habits, and then ask: “What do I value, and what does social media say about me?”

If you are brave enough to take this social media challenge, you might find yourself saying: “If only I loved and valued Jesus and His Kingdom as much as…”

  • My politics
  • The 2nd Amendment and my right to bear arms and self-defense
  • My children and their activities
  • Entertainment
  • My world travels
  • My animal(s)
  • Killing animals (hunting)
  • My wittiness
  • My personal ministry kingdom
  • Getting “like(s)” and self-promotion
  • Sports
  • Weather
  • Winning arguments
  • Having to know what everyone is doing/saying
  • Having to let everyone know everything I do and say
  • My selfie fetish
  • My favorite recipe/food

Please understand what I don’t mean. This isn’t a polemic against social media itself. Social media is amoral, and can actually be redeemed and used to proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called us out of darkness into His marvelous light (1 Peter 2:9). But frankly, it is deeply troubling that more Christians don’t maximize social media in an eternal and redeeming way.

If we can find the time to post a Vine about the look Leonardo DiCaprio gave Lady Gaga at the Golden Globe Awards (It was an awkwardly funny moment, BTW), then surely we can proclaim Jesus and/or advocate for the life of the unborn, or post something that reflects a deep and burning desire for His Kingdom come, His will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Are you maximizing social media for God’s glory, the good of others and your lasting joy?

So post your family pictures, your witty thoughts, the clever memes with Steve Harvey giving false hope, that incredible sports moment, or whatever else you deem worthy – and I will continue to join you. But ask yourself: What does my social media consumption and contribution say about me and the Christ who saved me? Does that which I proclaim show that I truly value and enjoy Jesus above all else?

Is Jesus your treasure? Your social media habits may likely tell you so.

About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on January 11, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

