Eagle Heights and Six Reasons I am Thankful

I have concluded that one of the reasons God’s people struggle to live in a perpetual attitude of thankfulness (Eph. 5:20) is because we do not practice the discipline of intentionally looking for God’s work around us.

I am personally prone to see only what needs to be better rather than seeing what God has done and is doing. This can result in a constant attitude of discontentment. There needs to be an intentional application of biblical balance.

Additionally, I recognize that as the lead pastor I get to hear and see good things that may escape the notice of our faith family, and so I want to help others be thankful as well.

And so I write to stir up my own thankfulness and that of others, hoping that we will increasingly praise God together for all He has done, is doing and will do!

I am thankful for:

  • The gospel of Jesus Christ that is  now manifested (Romans 1:26). I can’t understand how anyone could ever get over the grace that has been extended to us in Christ Jesus! No one is deserving! No one!
  • The growth of generosity. This morning a young man described to me how God was working in his life and giving him a  greater desire to be a generous steward of all that God has given him.
  • A family that honored their commitment. They left our church over a year ago, but sent the remainder of the pledge they made over two years ago. I am always encouraged when people honor their word and I want to follow their example.
  • A last-minute chance to serve. One of our Core Groups changed their regularly scheduled plans and helped a new Stillwater couple move into their home. The couple was very encouraged by the act of service and those who served were blessed as well.
  • Babies. I don’t mean to leave anyone out, knowing that we have recently had a number of additions by birth, but congratulations to the Ochsner family for the healthy birth of Abel Jameson!  Children are a miracle and blessing from the Lord!
  • New Members. For the people of Eagle Heights, membership is the way people publicly express commitment to Jesus Christ and His body. Yesterday we welcomed Justin, Teresa, Cody and Katilyn Moss, as well as, Jayde Jarnagin and Lindsey Worcester.

The problem with an exercise like this is that I most certainly have forgot someone or something. Maybe I didn’t know – God does. But hopefully I have stirred you up to think of people and happenings that will result in your thankfulness, which is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus (1 Thess. 5:18). If you have something to share that will result in thankfulness for God’s glory, I would really like to hear about it for.

 

About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on July 21, 2014, in Eagle Heights. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

