the Danger of Happy Pictures and the Forever Lazy

Click on the following link to view a harmless picture and then come back for an explanation.

So here’s what you should have seen. Large letters telling you that you can log-in with a user ID and password to access online banking. And then there is a lot of other stuff that I have yet to have a reason to care about.

But right next to the log-in and password is a picture that I have seen hundreds of times and it bothers me. Why does a happy woman at a computer bother me?

As I said, I have been to this website hundreds of times to check and manage our checking account, and not once can I recall being that happy, or being made happy by checking my money.

Hang with me.

I appreciate the ease of access. I appreciate the convenience of being able to know what I have or if someone is stealing my money. I appreciate that Banc First provides helpful customer service for banking.

And while it may give me peace of mind and make my life somewhat easier, it doesn’t make me that happy. I don’t ponder with happy anticipation all day long the thought of getting online to see how much money I have because Banc First provides this helpful service. Banc First’s online banking doesn’t make me happy.

I’m not bothered that I am not happy when I go to Banc First online checking, I am bothered by what the picture is communicating.

Here it is: If you have Banc First online banking you will be happy.

Hasn’t worked for me.

Yet almost all advertising works this way and we buy it hook, line and sinker. For instance, a Forever Lazy will make you happy. Go to the link and observe that everyone is happy. There’s nothing wrong with having a Forever Lazy???? But it wont’ make you happy – at least for long.

Are you trying to buy the joy and peace that the world is selling? The true problem is that we buy someones idea of what will make everything better and it always let’s us down.

The Bible is clear that we were made for God and our souls are restless until we find rest in Him (Augustine).

“Be appalled, O heavens, at this, And shudder, be very desolate,” declares the LORD. “For my people have committed two evils: They have forsaken Me, the fountain of living waters, To hew out cisterns, Broken cisterns That can hold no water.” Jeremiah 2:12-13.

So use Banc First and their online banking. Buy a Forever Lazy if it suits your fancy – or maybe not. But don’t think for one minute they will give you something that lasts. They are broken cisterns that can hold no water. Trust in the Creator and not the created and then you can rightly appreciate online banking.

About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Bible Thoughts, Money. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

