The Rage Against God; A Non-Theist Returns to Christianity

I have become somewhat familiar with Christopher Hitchens who is considered one of the most prominent and recognizable atheist in the world today. I did not however know that he had a brother who once was an ardent atheist himself, but has now returned to Christianity. He is set to release a book on June 1, 2010 called The Rage Against God; How Atheism Led Me to Faith. You can watch the trailer above to get a taste of the content of the book, but in short it appears that Peter Hitchens tells about his return to “faith” while also interacting with the “New Atheism” that his brother so zealously believes in and advocates.

You can also read an article called, How I Found God and Peace with My Atheist Brother; Peter Hitchens Traces His Journey Back to Christianity, which gives more detail concerning the expanded content that will be in the book.

I have previously written twice about “New Atheism” for the “Insight Blog” and have considered that I might be giving its proponents too much thought and credit, but I still maintain that Christopher Hitchens and his fellow atheists must be taken seriously. This seems especially obvious to me when I reflect on the reported aggressiveness and growth of atheism and agnosticism in the United States. As an ardent believer in Jesus Christ, I am glad that someone so close to atheism, like Peter Hitchens in our day and C.S. Lewis in days past, can comment about this challenge to faith in an age of skepticism.

About brentprentice

Brent is the lead pastor and one of the Elders at Eagle Heights in Stillwater, Oklahoma. He has been married to Lacey for 14 years and together they love two sons, Luke and Elijah, and a daughter, Bella.

Posted on March 31, 2010, in Atheism, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the heads-up, Brent. I also did not realize that Christopher had a brother, though I have become fairly familiar with Christopher. I really look forward to this book – especially if scholarship runs in the family. While I certainly find no commonality with Christopher, it is apparent that he has come to his vantage point (I won’t call it a “conclusion”) with a fair degree of knowledge, though not yet wisdom. And, I would agree with you on the significance of the New Atheism if based on nothing else but the cynical spirit of our times, the availability of resources and the charisma of its new leaders. I look forward to reading Peter’s account. Thanks again.

  2. I probably should have said this in the blog, but Albert Mohler is the one who found the story and posted it on twitter, which is one of the reasons I find twitter helpful.

    From what I have seen I would agree with Peter, people like Dawkins who are so angry, give other people a reason or evidence to be angry. Not all non-theists are like that, but some are very angry with the “God” they don’t believe in.

    I wondered today if this movement will eventually lose steam when angry people quit buying the angry books of the angry atheists.

    Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

